top of page

Funeral Rites

The Catholic funeral rite is divided into several stations, or parts, each with its own purpose.

  • Vigil Service (Wake) 
    The Vigil Service can take the form of a Service of the Word with readings from Sacred Scripture accompanied by reflection and prayers. It can also take the form of one of the prayers of the Office for the Dead from the Liturgy of the Hours.


  • Funeral Liturgy
    The funeral liturgy is the central liturgical celebration of the Christian community for the deceased. When one of its members dies, the Church encourages the celebration of the funeral liturgy at a Mass. When Mass cannot be celebrated, a funeral liturgy outside Mass can be celebrated at the church or in the funeral home.


  • Rite of Committal (Burial or Internment)
    The Rite of Committal, the conclusion of the funeral rite, is the final act of the community of faith in caring for the body of its deceased member. It should normally be celebrated at the place of committal, that is, beside the open grave or place of interment. In committing the body to its resting place, the community expresses the hope that, with all those who have gone before us marked with the sign of faith, the deceased awaits the glory of the resurrection.

colum pic 2.jpg

Saint Ann Catholic Church Columbarium is available as a site for final internment. To learn more about the Columbarium, please click the button below.

bottom of page