top of page
Inside of Confession Booth


The Roman Catholic Church views confirmation as a sacrament instituted by Jesus Christ. It confers the gifts of the Holy Spirit upon the recipient.


There are seven gifts of the Holy Spirit:

  1. Wisdom,

  2. Understanding,

  3. Knowledge, 

  4. Counsel,

  5. Fortitude,

  6. Piety, and

  7. Fear of the Lord.


A confirmation candidate must be of discerning age (at least 7 years old). The Rite of Confirmation is typically performed by a bishop, and includes laying on of hands and anointing the forehead with chrism (holy oil).

bottom of page