top of page
Inside of Confession Booth


The sacrament of reconciliation is a sacrament instituted by Jesus Christ that offers His love and mercy. Sins committed against God and those wounded by our sins can be forgiven by God in this holy sacrament.

Each reconciliation consists of four steps:

  1. Confession of sins,

  2. Expression of contrition or sorrow for the sins,

  3. Act(s) of penance, and

  4. Absolution of sins.

Prior to receiving to reconciliation, an examination of conscience should be completed. There are many different ways to examine one's conscience and various guides for doing so (e.g., an examination based on the ten commandments, an examination for young adults, an examination for single people, or an examination for married adults).

bottom of page